Java Davis

May 8, 2017

Who knew that losing an eye and getting a prosthesis could be so fascinating? Me, Myself and Eye: The Realities of Living with a Prosthetic Eye, by Cynthia Lee De Boer, tells her story simply and straight-forwardly, including using medical jargon and then explaining what it means. Me, Myself and Eye is meant to be both an autobiographical memoir and a self-help book. Cynthia Lee De Boer achieved both goals. As a child, the author developed Fuchs Dystrophy, an eye disease that develops in children, usually in both eyes. Her sight was greatly affected in her right eye, but it was her left eye that kept manifesting painful symptoms, one after another, causing De Boer to be a withdrawn child in nearly constant pain. At age 16, a corrective contact lens in her right eye gave her the chance to live without coke-bottle glasses slipping down her nose that had given her an awkward self-consciousness. She felt more like a normal teenager. Alas, this feeling of freedom didn’t last. At seventeen, after a number of painful and ineffective eye treatments, she was told that it was time for the removal of her left eye. Teenagers are already body-conscious. This on top of the simple fact of losing an important body part made for a very emotional time. Eventually, De Boer, with the aid of television heroes like Sammy Davis, Jr., Peter Falk, and (mistakenly) Sandy Duncan, was ready to accept the medical necessity for the procedures.

Cynthia Lee De Boer does not leave out a single detail about her emotions, the procedure of eye removal, recovery from surgery, and the things that had to be stuck in her eye before the final insertion of the prosthetic eye, with its hand-painted details. She remembers to express gratitude to the doctors and oculists that took care of her along the way, and reminds people to be proactive patients and make sure the doctors are the right fit. Physically, De Boer discusses making the new eye match the right eye, learning to make both eyes look in the same direction without getting the prosthetic “stuck,” and the cleaning and maintenance of the prosthesis. Me, Myself and Eye: The Realities of Living with a Prosthetic Eye is a very short book, taking me just over an hour to read and digest. Sometimes, the language was awash in hyperbole, but then, teenagers can be very dramatic, even in hindsight from decades later. Overall, Cynthia Lee De Boer has written a Class A memoir and self-help book.

Java Davis

DETERMINED-D

Rating: 5 out of 5

March 2017

Perhaps you or someone you know suffers from an eye condition and he or she is fearful or uncertain about what to do next or what might happen in the future. I can relate to that because Cynthia De Boer and I have something in common. Shortly after her birth, Cynthia’s parents realized that something was wrong with her vision. As a child I remember visiting Dr. Hewett regularly. I have been wearing very thick glasses, just like Cynthia, since I was three years old. Just like me, one of Cynthia’s eyes has better sight than the other. Cynthia lost her sight in one eye as a teen. I lost the sight in my left eye as an adult. I can relate to Cynthia’s wonderful book, ME MYSELF AND EYE… the realities of living with a prosthetic eye.

DETERMINED-D

Loved it!

5.0 out of 5 stars

June 14, 2016

Format: Paperback

A very open look into the life of someone going through a life changing experience at a young age and the positive outlook to have after. A great read and it will make you feel good about life and the people in it.

Rickey Stewart

Inspiring!

5.0 out of 5 stars

August 20, 2016

Format: Paperback

Ms. De Boers’ saga begins shortly after birth, continues throughout her vulnerable teenage years, and is ongoing even today. She shares her story, bouncing between horror and humor. The courage it took to live this journey, much less chronicle it, is truly an inspiration.

Jackie Faoroon

A short read worth every minute!

5 out of 5 stars

March 13, 2017

Format: Paperback

With 50,000 Americans being declared legally blind every year, this little book is a must read. Cynthia gives an informative, insightful glimpse into the tragedy of losing an eye as a teenager, and finding “wholeness” with a prosthesis. This is a universal story any reader can identify with, regardless of the type of infirmaty the reader might face.

Her path was painful but she has an incredible attitude

5.0 out of 5 stars

January 13, 2017

Format: Paperback

Me, Myself & Eye
by Cynthia Lee De Boer
This book was a very intense walk with a young woman that started with medical problems from birth. Her path was painful but she has an incredible attitude. Her journey was full of unselfish love and gratitude for those who helped her. She is a wonderful person and the book is a worth reading and giving to anyone who has physical problems because it is inspiring and encourages gratitude to those who help us along life’s journey no matter what your challenges are.

A difficult journey but a hopeful message … well worth the read.

4.0 out of 5 stars

January 16, 2017

Format: Paperback

Me Myself and Eye, by Cynthia L. De Boer is a biographical and factual account of the author’s journey from a young age, through a difficult and challenging medical condition with one eye – where ultimately she had to have the eye removed and replaced with a prosthesis. One would think that the read would be uncomfortable and difficult, and of course, in some parts it is not palatable to the mind, but overall, it is not. What makes this book particularly special and important is that it takes a subject, sight, and puts it into the spotlight and makes it very real to the reader just how important our eyes are to everything in our life. De Boer does a good job of presenting a very difficult and somewhat traumatizing subject matter, and while the narrative walks us through her own journey, the real focus and value of this book is the tremendous amount of facts and information which the author provides about eyesight, ocular diseases, issues and of course prostheses. One cannot help but achieve a higher awareness, understanding, and indeed, appreciation of these two parts of us which bring the whole world to life. And of course, as the reader, if one has any eyesight issues, then this book is an excellent and easy manual, written in laymen’s terms, with references and advice which anyone can use. It is not a medical text, but it is certainly a valuable ally to have in one’s library, because with age comes eyesight issues and it is good to understand and to know what one is dealing with. The book also shows us that in the past five decades or so, medical science has learned a lot and refined this field considerably, so it is a hopeful sign for anyone who might have to walk this road, and one can find some solace in her book that one is not alone in this journey.
Book review also available at International Writers Inspiring Change

Real Laplaine

Thank You, Cynthia De Boer

March 23, 2017

Format: Paperback

Perhaps you or someone you know suffers from an eye condition and he or she is fearful or uncertain about what to do next or what might happen in the future. I can relate to that because Cynthia De Boer and I have something in common. Shortly after her birth, Cynthia’s parents realized that something was wrong with her vision. As a child, I remember visiting Dr. Hewett regularly. I have been wearing very thick glasses, just like Cynthia, since I was three years old. Just like me, one of Cynthia’s eyes has better sight than the other. Cynthia lost her sight in one eye as a teen. I lost the sight in my left eye as an adult. I can relate to Cynthia’s wonderful book, ME MYSELF AND EYE… the realities of living with a prosthetic eye.

Can you imagine what Cynthia went through as a child with serious eye issues, wondering what each new day would bring, having to suffer through pain one day and perhaps some relief the next day? Someone said that pain and suffering make you stronger. Cynthia has had a prosthetic eye since the age of seventeen. She has learned to deal with her eye issues so well that she has decided to share her journey with you by writing about it with ME MYSELF AND EYE.

It takes a very strong personality to be able to deal with serious issues and still be willing to share them with the world. Cynthia has surrounded herself with positive people along with experts in the field of eye care. Her belief system is strong and solid. MY MYSELF AND EYE is packed with solid eye-related information. I never knew a prosthetic (glass) eye was acrylic. Cynthia’s book is insightful and empathetic. She is thorough, even including stories about others facing the same issue. She has also included a chapter on eye diseases and web sites containing more useful information. Feel free to check out Cynthia’s blog. Lastly, she has included her email should you have any comments or questions. ME MYSELF AND EYE is a must-read for anyone dealing with eye issues.

Lisa Smith

This is a wonderful blog for creative writing: a rich source of inspiration combined with a strong presence of the author.

Lisa Smith

Natalie Jackson

I enjoyed every piece of it. How intelligent and delightful your writings are! Every single article belongs here.

Natalie Jackson

John McGill

Those illustrations complete the charming atmosphere of your works. Smart decision on including them here and there.

John McGill
X